Personal life updates

As my previous post shows I have some life updates. I am now a mom to an 8 month old. My entire pregnancy was difficult and new motherhood has been hard.

During pregnancy I had hyperemesis gravidarum, which was not diagnosed by my OB and had to be diagnosed by my primary care after I gave birth. I also was diagnosed with gestational diabetes and was on long acting insulin which led to some dangerous lows. Later I was diagnosed with gestational hypertension.

Given all the health concerns the pregnancy was a bit of a struggle. I was under close monitoring, and saw more of the OB’s office than I did at home. There were weekly ultrasounds and fetal stress tests multiple times a week, weekly ob check ins. Finally, my provider decided to induce me if I didn’t go into labor naturally. Then, they realized I had hypertension and induced me as soon as I was to term.

Labor and delivery are as difficult as you would imagine and little one became a NICU warrior with a six day stay. Since coming home I have battled post partumn depression, a slow to grow baby, and post partumn GI issues.

Coming back to work was one of the most difficult things I’ve ever done and after 5 months back I have switched to longer shifts less days a week. This allows my husband to go back to full time work and I get to enjoy the perks of a full time employee and SAHM.

I am hoping my new schedule will allow me to have better work life balance and get back to this blog!

My current goal is twice a week to start out with, I will announce the anticipated days soon!

Leave a comment